Admissions

Tuition and Fees

Apprenticeship Program

Tuition and Fees only apply to the Associate of Applied Science Degree.
Please note: Under specific local union contracts, tuition and fees may no longer apply to the apprenticeship training program.

 

Continuing Education Classes

Classes are of no charge for active Apprentices and Journeyworkers.  Entry Level Journeyworkers and Organized Workers will be charged $25 for every 4-Hours of class unless the minimum required Safety Training Hours have been met per specific program.  Payment is due upon attending class.

Student Handbook + Course Catalog

All program requirements and information on the Finishing Trades Institute can be found by downloading the student handbook from the link below.
 

Student Handbook

Take the first step to a new career

Careers in trade industries are in high demand.
APPLY NOW

Staff

Tom Aasheim  – Director of Training and Dean of Trades
Tom also serves as the Coordinator and Instructor for the Commercial  & Industrial Painting and Drywall Finishing. He moved to his full-time postion in 2011 after teaching as a part-time instructor for 2 years. Tom has over 20 years experience in Commerical & Industrail Painting. He also has numerous certifications and is the instructor for RRP and Lead Worker training.
Email:  taasheim@ftium.edu

Brian Hagberg
Brian is the Coordinator for Glazing and Glassworkers. Brian is a Journeyworker Glazier, who worked with Brin Northwestern Glass for 20-years. Brian started with FTI-UM in September 2008 as the Glazing and Glassworking Coordinator/Instructor. Brian is OSHA 500, OSHA 501Rigging & Signaling, Forklift, Boom Lifts and American Heart Instructor certified. He is currently working on his American Welding Society Certification.
E-mail: bhagberg@ftium.edu

Greg Renne
Greg is our new Recruitment Coordinator. Although Greg is new, he has over 20 years of experience as a Glazier. He has served as the Administrator of the IUPAT Labor Management Cooperation Initiative(LMCI) and also served as a Recruitment Manager for the FTI International in Hanover Maryland.
Email: grenne@ftium.edu

Ed Kane
Ed is one of our painting instructors with over 30 years of experience in the field.
Email: ekane@ftium.edu

Amy Peterson
Amy is one of our Drywall Finisher Instructors at FTI-UM, and has substantial experience in the trade.
Email: apeterson@ftium.edu

Tony Osborn
Tony is an Instructor for the Glazing and Glassworker program. Tony is a Journeyworker Glazier, who has many years of hands-on experience in the Glazing field.
Email: tosborn@ftium.edu

Dave Sears
Dave is an Instructor for the Painters program. Dave has over 30 years of experience in the field and is certified in many areas.
Email: dsears@ftium.edu

Davitt Dougherty
Davitt is one of our commercial paint instructors who has held a variety of titles in the field with over 20 years experience.
Email: ddougherty@ftium.edu

Nicki Tennyson
Nicki is FTI’s Educational Administrator and handles all Associate Degree questions and Apprentice training. She is also actively involved in both student recruitment and the admissions process.
Email: ntennyson@ftium.edu

Jessica Perez
Jessica is our Office Administrator. Jessica comes with many years of experience in higher education. Jessica handles organized worker questions and takes payments.
Email: jperez@ftium.edu

Mark Duttenhefner
Mark is an Industrial Painting instructure. He has extensive experience in industrial coatings application and Quality Control inspection.
Email: mduttenhefner@ftium.edu

Liz Fall
Email: lfall@ftium.edu

Finishing Trades Institute of the Upper Midwest Board of Trustees

 

Management Labor
Gary Buchert
JB Nelson & Sons
Terry Nelson
District Council 82
Mike Horovitz
Minneapolis Glass
Craig Olson
District Council 82, Local 106
John Nesse
Association Office
Craig Peck
District Council 82, Local 386
James Bringle
Empirehouse
Scott Parker
District Council 82, Local 681
Joel Swanson
Swanson Youngdale
Ken Gorman
District Council 82, Local 1324
Shane Boskovich
Albrecht Signs
Teresa Ellis
District Council 82, Local 880
Martha Henrickson
MN Drywall and Plaster Association
Jordan Fry
District Council 82, Local 61
Roger Stelljes
McGrann Shea Carnival Straughn & Lamb, Chartered
CONTACT US

A Rewarding, Hands-On Career Awaits

Finishing Trades Institute of the Upper Midwest is an educational institute dedicated to developing professional tradespeople, advancing their skills and certifying their qualifications in the Upper Midwest. Our learners include Commercial and Industrial Painters, Drywall Finishers, Glaziers, Glassworkers, Sign and Display Technicians, and Tradeshow Workers.

Apply Now